The Tour du Valat, a team of scientists working for wetlands

Founded more than 50 years ago by Luc Hoffmann, the Tour du Valat has since then developed its research activities for the conservation of Mediterranean wetlands with a major focus :

« Better understanding of wetlands for better management ».

Convinced that it will only be possible to preserve wetlands if human activities and the protection of the natural heritage can be reconciled, the Tour du Valat has for many years been developing programmes of research and integrated management that promote interchanges between wetland users and scientists.

The Tour du Valat mission is to halt the loss and the degradation of Mediterranean wetlands and of their natural resources, and to restore them.
 
La Tour du Valat, located in the heart of the Camargue is a private research organization. It has the legal form of a charitable foundation recognised as a non profit-making association since 1978.
 
The Tour du Valat Estate which includes all the natural habitats representative of the Camargue with its rivers and wetlands, extends over an area of 2 600 hectares 1 071 of which benefited from the status of Voluntary Nature Reserve between 1984 and 2008. Since July 2008, 1 844 ha have been set under the status of Regional Nature Reserve. A certain amount of experimental work is carried out by the Tour du Valat's researchers on this estate.
 
The Tour du Valat, it is also a unique bibliographical resource centre in the Mediterranean, specialised in Wetlands Ecology, Ornithology, Zoology, Mammalogy, Ichtyology, Herpetology, Botany. Each year, hundreds of researchers, teachers and students from the Mediterranean basin come and consult the library's reference material.
 
The Tour du Valat employs around sixty employees who are involved throughout the Mediterranean. Our scientific team, comprising around thirty specialists in Plant Ecology, Ornithology, Aquatic Macrofauna, Hydrology, Geomatics, Socio-economics, Geography and Integrated Management, are working on programmes of research into the functioning of wetlands, and are testing out methods of management. The results are communicated via training, partnerships, and the implementation of innovative projects being carried out in collaboration with a wide range of partners.
 
 
For the general public the Tour du Valat is open twice a year. An "Open doors" day is organised for the World Wetlands Day, usually on the last week-end in January or the first in February.
 

Photo: 

Some buildings at Tour du Valat
Some buildings at Tour du Valat
Tour du Valat's new look - 2017
Tour du Valat's new look - 2017

La Tour du Valat, une équipe de scientifiques au service des zones humides

Créée il y a plus de 50 ans par Luc Hoffmann, naturaliste visionnaire et mécène, la Tour du Valat a depuis lors développé son activité de recherche pour la conservation des zones humides méditerranéennes avec un souci constant :

« Mieux comprendre les zones humides pour mieux les gérer ».

Convaincue que ce n’est qu’en conciliant activités humaines et protection du patrimoine naturel que les zones humides pourront être préservées, la Tour du Valat développe depuis de nombreuses années des programmes de recherche et de gestion intégrée qui favorisent les échanges entre usagers des zones humides et scientifiques.

Ainsi la Tour du Valat s’est-elle fixé comme mission d'assurer la conservation et l'utilisation rationnelle des zones humides méditerranéennes en améliorant la compréhension de leur fonctionnement et en mobilisant une communauté d'acteurs.

La Tour du Valat, située au cœur de la Camargue, est un organisme privé de recherche. Elle a la forme juridique d’une fondation à but non lucratif, reconnue d’utilité publique depuis 1978.

Son domaine qui englobe tous les habitats naturels représentatifs de la Camargue fluvio-lacustre, s’étend sur 2 600 hectares dont 1 071 ont bénéficié, de 1984 à 2008, d’un classement en Réserve Naturelle Volontaire. Depuis juillet 2008, ce sont 1 844 ha qui sont classés sous le statut de Réserve Naturelle Régionale. Un certain nombre d’expérimentations des chercheurs de la Tour du Valat sont réalisées sur ce domaine.

La Tour du Valat, c’est aussi un centre de ressources documentaires unique en Méditerranée spécialisé en écologie des zones humides, ornithologie, zoologie, mammalogie, ichtyologie, herpétologie, botanique. Chaque année, de nombreux chercheurs, enseignants et stagiaires du bassin méditerranéen viennent consulter les ouvrages de la bibliothèque.

La Tour du Valat emploie plus d’une soixantaine de personnes qui interviennent dans toute la Méditerranée. Notre équipe scientifique, riche d’une trentaine de spécialistes en Ecologie végétale, Ornithologie, Macrofaune aquatique, Hydrologie, Géomatique, Socio-économie, Géographie et Gestion intégrée, développe des programmes de recherche sur le fonctionnement des zones humides et teste des modes de gestion. Les résultats sont transférés par la formation, le partenariat et la mise en place de projets innovants menés en collaboration avec de nombreux partenaires.

Comment nous découvrir ?
Pour le grand public, la Tour du Valat est ouverte deux fois par an, notamment lors de la journée mondiale des zones humides, généralement le dernier dimanche de janvier ou le premier de février.

Photo: 

Les bâtiments de la Tour du Valat
Les bâtiments de la Tour du Valat